Breaking News
Home / Sports / Lloris blunder means Courtois clinches Golden Glove award

Lloris blunder means Courtois clinches Golden Glove award

The Tottenham goalkeeper can still co-win the award, but his error means that the Belgium international will claim the prize for the first time

Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois has clinched the Premier League Golden Glove award after Hugo Lloris’ error ruined his clean sheet on Thursday.

Lloris charged outside of his box to meet a second-half through ball for Jaime Vardy, but was unable to clear and eventually Ben Chilwell scored with the Tottenham goalkeeper scrambling. 

Kane tops 2017 PL goal chart

The goal meant little to the result, as Spurs crushed defending champions Leicester City 6-1, but it did secure Courtois the award which goes to the goalkeeper with the most Premier League clean sheets on the season.

The Belgium international has 16 clean sheets in 2016-17, while Lloris is on 15 with just one round of fixtures remaining.

Lloris could still co-win the award on the season’s final day if he keeps a clean sheet against Hull City and Courtois either concedes or doesn’t play against Sunderland. 

The Golden Glove used to have a tie-breaker system which resulted in only one winner, but that was amended in 2013-14 to stipulate that there could be multiple winners of the award. 

Check Also

‘I watch and learn from Dani Alves’ – Oxlade-Chamberlain reveals FA Cup final preparations

Arsenal’s switch to a 3-4-3 system has led the wide player to take inspiration from …

Willian rules out Chelsea exit amid Man Utd transfer talk

The Brazilian has been linked with a Jose Mourinho reunion at Old Trafford but intends …

‘Makelele role is now the Kante role’ – Chelsea icon Claude passes baton to N’Golo

The former Blues midfielder is in awe of the PFA Player of the Year following …

Chelsea have no special FA Cup plans for Alexis Sanchez, says Victor Moses

The Blues wing-back is confident that his side can wrap up a domestic double on …